The federal row, as the table prints it
The Department of Labor page Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees is dated July 1, 2026, and the page says it was last revised that day. Its federal row lists a combined minimum of $7.25, a maximum tip credit of $5.12, and a minimum cash wage of $2.13. A tipped employee under that row receives more than $30 a month in tips. Fact Sheet #15 says the employer must make up the difference if cash wages plus tips do not equal $7.25 in each workweek. The dropdown and the table below are that DOL table, checked October 19, 2026. Next scheduled check: January 1, 2027, because the Michigan footnote names that date. This is arithmetic against the printed row, not a finding that an employer broke the law. DOL says individuals should consult the relevant state labor office.
| Jurisdiction | Combined minimum | Maximum tip credit | Minimum cash wage | Tipped employee |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Federal (FLSA) | 7.25 | 5.12 | $2.13 | More than $30 |
| Alaska | $14.00 | |||
| California | $16.90 | |||
| Guam | $9.25 | |||
| Minnesota | $11.41 | |||
| Montana, sales over $110,000 | $10.85 | |||
| Montana, not covered by the FLSA, sales of $110,000 or less | $4.00 | |||
| Nevada | $12.00 | |||
| Oregon, standard | $15.55 | |||
| Oregon, Portland metro | $16.80 | |||
| Oregon, nonurban counties | $14.55 | |||
| Washington | $17.13 | |||
| Arizona | 15.15 | 3.00 | $12.15 | Not specified |
| Arkansas | 11.00 | 8.37 | $2.63 | Not specified |
| Colorado | 15.16 | 3.02 | $12.14 | More than $30 |
| Connecticut, hotel and restaurant | 16.94 | 10.56 | $6.38 | Not specified |
| Connecticut, bartenders who customarily receive tips | 16.94 | 8.71 | $8.23 | |
| Delaware | 15.00 | 12.77 | $2.23 | More than $30 |
| District of Columbia | 18.40 | 8.10 | $10.30 | Not specified |
| Florida | 14.00 | 3.02 | $10.98 | More than $30 |
| Hawaii | 16.00 | 1.25 | $14.75 | |
| Idaho | 7.25 | 3.90 | $3.35 | More than $30 |
| Illinois | 15.00 | 40% of the applicable minimum wage ($6.00) | $9.00 | Not specified |
| Iowa | 7.25 | 40% of the applicable minimum wage ($2.90) | $4.35 | More than $30 |
| Maine | 15.10 | 50% of the applicable minimum wage ($7.55) | $7.55 | More than $191 |
| Maryland | 15.00 | 11.37 | $3.63 | More than $30 |
| Massachusetts | 15.00 | 8.25 | $6.75 | More than $20 |
| Michigan | 13.73 | 8.24 | $5.49 | Not specified |
| Missouri | 15.00 | 50% of the applicable minimum wage ($7.50) | $7.50 | Not specified |
| New Hampshire | 7.25 | 3.98 | $3.27 | More than $30 |
| New Jersey | 15.92 | 9.87 | $6.05 | More than $30 |
| New Mexico | 12.00 | 9.00 | $3.00 | More than $30 |
| New York | 17.00 (NYC, Long Island, & Westchester); 16.00 (remainder of NY state) | Tipped workers' minimum wage rates vary by region and type of employer. | Not specified | |
| North Dakota | 7.25 | 33% of the applicable minimum wage ($2.39) | $4.86 | More than $30 |
| Ohio, gross receipts of $405,000 or more | 11.00 | 5.50 | $5.50 | More than $30 |
| Oklahoma | 7.25 | 5.12 | $2.13 | Not specified |
| Pennsylvania | 7.25 | 4.42 | $2.83 | $135 per month |
| Rhode Island | 16.00 | 12.11 | $3.89 | More than $30 |
| South Dakota | 11.85 | 50% of the applicable minimum wage ($5.92) | $5.93 | More than $35 |
| Vermont | 14.42 | 50% of the applicable minimum wage ($7.21) | $7.21 | More than $120 |
| Virgin Islands | 10.50 | 6.30 | $4.20 | Not specified |
| Wisconsin | 7.25 | 4.92 | $2.33 | Not specified |
| West Virginia | 8.75 | 70% of the applicable minimum wage ($6.13) | $2.62 | Not specified |
| Alabama | 7.25 | 5.12 | $2.13 | More than $30 |
| American Samoa | Special minimum wage rates | $2.13 | More than $30 | |
| Georgia | 7.25 | 5.12 | $2.13 | More than $30 |
| Indiana | 7.25 | 5.12 | $2.13 | More than $30 |
| Kansas | 7.25 | 5.12 | $2.13 | Not specified |
| Kentucky | 7.25 | 5.12 | $2.13 | More than $30 |
| Louisiana | 7.25 | 5.12 | $2.13 | More than $30 |
| Mississippi | 7.25 | 5.12 | $2.13 | More than $30 |
| Nebraska | 15.00 | 12.87 | $2.13 | Not specified |
| North Carolina | 7.25 | 5.12 | $2.13 | More than $20 |
| Northern Mariana Islands | 7.25 | 5.12 | $2.13 | More than $30 |
| Puerto Rico | 10.50 | 8.37 | $2.13 | More than $30 |
| South Carolina | 7.25 | 5.12 | $2.13 | More than $30 |
| Tennessee | 7.25 | 5.12 | $2.13 | More than $30 |
| Texas | 7.25 | 5.12 | $2.13 | More than $20 |
| Utah | 7.25 | 5.12 | $2.13 | More than $30 |
| Virginia | 12.77 | 10.64 | $2.13 | More than $30 |
| Wyoming | 7.25 | 5.12 | $2.13 | More than $30 |
- Alaska. Full state minimum before tips.
- California. Full state minimum before tips.
- Guam. Full state minimum before tips.
- Minnesota. Full state minimum before tips.
- Montana, sales over $110,000. Full cash wage for businesses with gross annual sales over $110,000.
- Montana, not covered by the FLSA, sales of $110,000 or less. DOL prints $4.00 for this tier. Confirm coverage with the state labor office before treating it as the wage you were owed.
- Nevada. Full state minimum before tips.
- Oregon, standard. The Oregon minimum wage varies by region.
- Oregon, Portland metro. The Oregon minimum wage varies by region.
- Oregon, nonurban counties. The Oregon minimum wage varies by region.
- Washington. Full state minimum before tips.
- Connecticut, hotel and restaurant. Footnote 2: The Connecticut minimum wage is adjusted annually based on a set formula.
- Connecticut, bartenders who customarily receive tips. Footnote 2: The Connecticut minimum wage is adjusted annually based on a set formula.
- District of Columbia. Footnote 3: Employers must currently pay a minimum cash wage of at least 56% the standard minimum wage and may claim the remaining difference in tip credit.
- Florida. Footnote 4: The Florida minimum wage is scheduled to increase by $1.00 every year on September 30th until reaching $15.00 on September 30, 2026.
- Hawaii. Hawaii: Tip credit is permissible if the combined amount the employee receives from the employer and in tips is at least $7.00 more than the applicable minimum wage.
- Michigan. Footnote 15: The minimum direct cash wage for tipped employees in Michigan is scheduled to increase annually until it reaches 50 percent of the state minimum wage in 2031. Additionally, the Michigan minimum wage is scheduled to increase on January 1, 2027 (to $15.00 per hour); it is then scheduled to be adjusted annually based on a set formula.
- New Jersey. Footnote 6 also states a minimum wage of $15.23 per hour for employers who employ fewer than 6 people and employees engaged in seasonal employment. This row is the $15.92 line.
- New York. See New York's Minimum Wage overview. This calculator does not pick one regional cash wage.
- Ohio, gross receipts of $405,000 or more. Footnote 7: For employees of employers with gross annual sales of less than $405,000, the state minimum wage is $7.25 per hour.
- Oklahoma. Footnote 8 describes a $2.00 basic rate for some small employers and a different credit for employers not covered by the FLSA. This row is the $7.25 / $2.13 line.
- Virgin Islands. Minimum cash wage is printed as 40% of the applicable minimum wage ($4.20).
- Wisconsin. Footnote 9: A cash wage of $2.13 may be paid to an opportunity employee under 20 who has been employed 90 or fewer consecutive days. The minimum wage for opportunity employees is $5.90.
- West Virginia. Footnote 10: The state minimum wage law applies only to employers with six or more employees and to state agencies.
- Alabama. Footnote 11: Alabama has no state minimum wage law. Employers must pay employees covered by the FLSA at least the federal minimum wage.
- American Samoa. DOL prints special minimum wage rates rather than one combined figure.
- Georgia. Footnote 11: Georgia has a state minimum wage law, but it does not apply to tipped employees.
- Kansas. Footnote 12: Kansas excludes from coverage any employment subject to the FLSA.
- Louisiana. Footnote 11: Louisiana has no state minimum wage law.
- Mississippi. Footnote 11: Mississippi has no state minimum wage law.
- North Carolina. Footnote 13: Tip credit is not permitted unless the employer obtains a signed certification of tips.
- South Carolina. Footnote 11: South Carolina has no state minimum wage law.
- Tennessee. Footnote 11: Tennessee has no state minimum wage law.
- Texas. Footnote 12: Texas excludes from coverage any employment subject to the FLSA.
- Utah. Footnote 12: Utah excludes from coverage any employment subject to the FLSA.
- Wyoming. Footnote 14: The Wyoming minimum wage is $5.15 per hour. Employers must pay employees covered by the FLSA at least the federal minimum wage.
What the boxes do
Cash pay is the hourly wage you type, times the hours, rounded to the cent. Tips are the amount you type for that same period. The effective hourly rate is those two added together, divided by the hours, then rounded to the cent. Taxes are not taken out. A tip-out you already handed to a busser is not subtracted unless you leave it out of the tips box yourself. The tip-out calculator is the place to see that handoff before you type the tips that stayed with you.
A worked example uses the federal cash wage from the table and numbers that are not a real shift. At $2.13 an hour for 40 hours, cash pay is $85.20. Add $400 in tips and the total is $485.20. Divide by 40 and the effective rate is $12.13. Open it: /hourly-wage-with-tips/?w=2.13&h=40&t=400. At the federal row, $7.25 times 40 hours is $290.00, and $485.20 is above that, so the make-up line is $0.00. The same $2.13 cash wage in California is below the $16.90 full minimum the table prints, and the tool flags it. A shortfall example: $2.13 times 30 hours is $63.90, plus $120 in tips is $183.90, against $7.25 times 30 hours ($217.50), so the make-up is $33.60. Florida's row on the July 1, 2026 table is still $14.00 combined, $3.02 tip credit, and $10.98 cash. Footnote 4 says: "The Florida minimum wage is scheduled to increase by $1.00 every year on September 30th until reaching $15.00 on September 30, 2026." The calculator uses the printed $14.00 row and shows that footnote. It does not replace the row with $15.00.
Related pages: tip-out and tip pooling for the pool rules, and restaurant tipping for the guest-facing percent.
Hourly wage FAQ
What federal tipped cash wage and tip credit does this page use?
The Department of Labor table Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees, dated July 1, 2026, lists the federal Fair Labor Standards Act row as a basic combined cash and tip minimum of $7.25, a maximum tip credit of $5.12, and a minimum cash wage of $2.13. The same row defines a tipped employee as someone who receives more than $30 a month in tips. The calculator compares the wage and tips you type with the row you pick, including that federal row.
Does every state use the $2.13 cash wage?
No. The same July 1, 2026 table has a section for states that require employers to pay tipped employees the full state minimum wage before tips, and another section for states that require a cash wage above $2.13. The table on this page copies those rows. Alaska, California, Guam, Minnesota, Montana's large-employer line, Nevada, Oregon, and Washington are the full-minimum block. New York varies by region, so the tool shows the DOL sentence and does not invent one cash wage.
What does effective hourly rate mean here?
It is the cash pay for the hours you entered, plus the tips you entered, divided by those hours. It is not a promise of what an employer must pay, and it does not subtract taxes.